droll Day

   I go over by the truck, and check the air pressure. It is a bit low.
   But then I hear a friendly voice behind me, "Say there, better get those tires pumped up a bit."
   I shrug, "Need to get the compressor rewired."
   "Quite a project," the friendly voice continues, "That reminds me of the time the fellow at the county fair came in with a lamp that was wired wrong," the voice pauses for effect, "The judging committee sure got a shock out of that one."
   "I know," I reply, "It was my lamp."
   "Oh yes, yes it was indeed," the friendly voice of Ed Drollinger catches itself, then changes the subject, "Mighty hot weather we’re having."
   "Could stand the rain," I agree.
   "Just like that WeenerMan fellow said, he was heading his way out to the rail stubb to pick up some building materials, said he needed to irrigate some kind of elevated garden."
   "HM?" I ask quickly, "Which way was he headed??"
   "Like I said," Ed replies, Out over the Water-Bridge in the direction of the Clover County Farm Supply at the Rails-end. Going out there real quick like, as fast as that Rodney-Mobile of his could go without rattling all apart."
About offroad2084

Work on the Work In Progress, MyDay in HicksTown. A light-hearted look at life in the fictional town of HicksTown in WeenerMan Township.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

