Droll Out

   I can’t help but give a quick grin over the pun and open the door to the truck.
   "You headed somewhere?" Ed asks.
   "Need to check over at the Clover County Supply, someone’s up to business, sort of,"
   "Waht route you taking?" Mr. Drollinger asks with interest.
   I shrug, "Through the Historic Ford I suppose, it’s right on the way."
   Ed nods his head, "If you’re taking that route, better hurry, they’re doing some work on the Water Bridge."
   "The County’s laying some rocks, that’s no big deal,"
   Mr. Drollinger smiles mysteriously, "Oh, something like that, I’d tell you to take the bridge by the house but the wife is mowing today, and for all her virtues, she can be a little long-of talk sometimes."
   I don’t know whether to agree or what, but Ed continues, "Well, while the work on the Water Bridge is going on, you can swing over by the House later, sort of reminds me," catches himself, "You’d better be moving on, by the way, I saw a piece of the RodneyMobile laying alongside the road headed out for the Supply, piece of plastic-goop, spray-painted tractor-blue, you’ll have to fill me in on that one. Swing by the House, I can allways use the material, the missus will have some lemonade colled off."
   I agree, though laying some flat rocks in the base of the Historic Ford couldn’t get that complicated I’d think.
   I climb up into the truck and start.
   Sure enough, Rodney has left a sparodic trail of tractor-blue plastic-goop bodywork to markl the way.
  
About offroad2084

Work on the Work In Progress, MyDay in HicksTown. A light-hearted look at life in the fictional town of HicksTown in WeenerMan Township.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

