Building Block Logic

   The Freight House salesperson reshuffles some order forms on her counter, "Couldn’t miss him, quite a sight."
   I nod in the affirmative.
   "Of course you should have seen what he was looking to buy," she remarks.
   "I can only guess," I reply.
   "HM was in here asking about slats to make an elevated garden bed," the Salesperson explains.
   "For his elevated organic bed garden," I illunminate.
   "Okay," she now understands better, "We sell them for rose gardens and shrubs around the house and such, just outside."
   "And he wants to kadapt them for growing vegetables," I narrate.
    "Sure, and we sell a few for people who want to grow tomatoes and such up around the house," the salesperson says, "But when he saw the price for one bed;"
     "Oiee,"  I put in.
    "You betcha’," the salesperson agrees, "He decided that he had some elm logs on hand that he could adapt to hold the mulch in."
    "Sounds familiar," I shrug.
    "I thought the American elm was extinct," the salesp[erson comments.
    "Not in WeenerMan Township," I explain, "Matter of fact they are pretty prolific, only catch they don’t grow much past 18-24 inches before they give out. Still, they are abundant in fencerow and some woodlot corners."
    "Sounds reasonable," the salesperson decides, "Only thing I’d worry about is when the logs started to break down that they might not be good for the plants growing in the bed."
   "Yep," I agree.
    "But HM says that by then he’ll have everything out by then," the salesperson adds, "So I try to explain that an elevated garden bed if properly turned and maintained can provide fruit well into the fall."
    "And," I wait for an answer.
    "And the WeenerMan thinks it all over and decides that that sounds like a lot of unplanned for work and that he’ll be happy for a couple messes of tomatoes, and some produce to sell at a Farmer’s Market so the people in Burdock Center can have some organic vegetables to eat," the salesperson smiles a little, "Somewhat unorthodox, but well-meaning."
    "That’s him," I second her.
    "Oh well, that’s the WeenerMan," she says as if from experience, "Anyways I finally did talk him into buying a load of cement-blocks to prop up the elm-logs. He thought it was a great idea because he could always put the blocks to use after the growing season was over."
    "Building Block Logic," I remark.
    "So we fire up the forklift, and after a lot of manuveuring and tries, we finally get the building blocks set down in that home-mde trailer he has attached to the back of the RodneyMobile," the salesperson explains, "Heavy enough load, we’re letting the forklift cool-off now."
    "So how much of a lead does he have on me?" I ask.
    "Relax," the Salesperson tells me, "Have a coffee and donut, and look over our tomato plant starts and complete seed-selection, we have some large pumpkin-seed on sale too," she smiles and gives me a wink, "How far ahead can a Weenerman and a trailer-load of building blocks being pulled by the Rodney-Mobile get??"
About offroad2084

Work on the Work In Progress, MyDay in HicksTown. A light-hearted look at life in the fictional town of HicksTown in WeenerMan Township.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

