The Secret of the Lost Cave

   I feel thirsty. For a moment I watch the cool water bubble and trickle just at my feet. Why not give the natural spring a quick taste. If it were good enough for the people when the Lost Cave doubled as a speakeasy..
   But then I remember something Ed Drollinger had told me once. amd I shine my pocket flash light accross the wall.
   And there they are. A line of characters etched into the wall. Someone had scratched them in pretty good and the characters still looked quite readable.
   The inscriprion bears a loose resembance to a combination of runes and Native American pictographs.
   According to Ed, people tried to decipher them for years. Copies of the inscripriptions were even taken to the StateCollege and they were unable to make heads or tales of them.
   Finally, after looking through a pile of books, the closest Ed and the township drifters were able to get were a rough translation. The meaning of the inscription went something like this, "Aqua. Drink. Aiiieeeee!"
   Looking at the tinged water gurgle by, and looking at my six-pack of murky green pop, I decide our historical forbearers may have had a clue after all, and I decide to put off sampling the spring water in the Lost Cave until another day.
About offroad2084

Work on the Work In Progress, MyDay in HicksTown. A light-hearted look at life in the fictional town of HicksTown in WeenerMan Township.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

