Long Walk

   A little warm I open the can of murky green pop, and set the can down. Just then I hear a cheerful voice speak up, "I don’t mean to be assertive, but I do hope you will not be leaving that pop can out here in nature."
    "These are the Roughs, no one would ever find it," I crush the can and stuff it into a back pocket.
    "Oh thank you," the cheery voice says, it is Winsome Springs, at the head of a small column of students that made up the Biology and Archaeologists Club from the Community College.
    "What brings you out here to the Roughs?" I ask, "Lot wading back at the Water Bridge."
    "The County crew needed to go back for more slabs of flatrock," Winsome explains to me, "And then another report of an escaped howler monkey ttraveling through these parts came back to us, and so we took a vote and decided to hike out here and see if we could find anything to the report."
    "Won’t find him much the direction he’s probably headed," I say so much to myself.
    "How’s that?" Winsome asks.
    Oh nothing much,’ I reply, "but as thick as these Roughs get, you’ll probably have a hard time of finding him, probably won’t even find many footie-prints."
    Winsome loois upwards and then back at the rest of the Club, "They all smile and laugh lightly, "Of course not Silly," Winsome tells me up front, "owler Monkeys travel by swinging through trees, and so of course they would not leave any foot-prints."
    I shrug, she had a point there.
About offroad2084

Work on the Work In Progress, MyDay in HicksTown. A light-hearted look at life in the fictional town of HicksTown in WeenerMan Township.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

