Sacked Out

A marmot seen on top of Mount Dana, Yosemite, ...

Image via Wikipedia. Snippee's Marmot. Semi-nocturnal marmot species censussed by the Weenerman Township Irregulars on behalf of Ranger Warden using a burlap bag and flashlights.

Poland Forest Ranger“Hee, hee,” Sam bascom cackles, “Neary as funny as the time me an’, er, that time Ranger Warden sent you fellows out looking for that Snippee’s Marmot up in the Old yon Pasture.”
“Snippee’s Marmot,” HM Weenerman recounts, “A semi-nocturnal creature, most active at dawn and dusk, rarely seen, but present.”
“Tell me about it,” I frown while rubbing my posterior.

Sam Bascom grins and rocks back and forth as he chuckles, “Yes, I can remember when Ranger Warden came asking me to borrow a couple flashlights and if I had a burlap bags on hand. Saying he needed them for the Townships Irregulars. What did he have yu on anyways.”

I scratch my head, “We’re still trying to figure that one out.”

The Weenerman shhrugs, “Said we weren’t catching Enough joke catfish and with the Too Much Creek getting over-populated with them, he was catching heat from the State Office.”

“So we ended up on the Census of the Snippee’s Marmot,” I add.”Makes sense,” Sam Bascom figures, “so how did you do the census? The Snippee’s Marmot being an underground varmit and all, did you try counting their dens and multiplying by two?”

“Ranger Warden recommended that we try that,” Hm Weenerman agrees, taps a finger to the side of his head, “But I decided to Innovate, and so I Innovated an Advanced Wildlife Census Technique.”

“An Advanced Wildlife Census Technique on the Snippee’s Marmot,” Sam repeats.

I shrug.

About offroad2084

Work on the Work In Progress, MyDay in HicksTown. A light-hearted look at life in the fictional town of HicksTown in WeenerMan Township.
This entry was posted in Country Humor, rural humor, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

