Holding the Bag

Critter watch

Critter watch (Photo credit: IndyDina with Mr. Wonderful)

I stand there holding the bag and watch everybody disappear. I shrug, unsling the bag and start to pick up some of the paper cups and other detrious materials laying all over around.
Then I see a movement in the grass.
A skinny little brown creature about yay-long scurries out into the lane.
The little brown creature stands up on his haunches and quickly peers up and down the road worriedly.
“You have nothing to worry about,” I explain, “Everybody has gone home.”
The little brown creature takes a paw and seems to make a swiping motion at his forehead. Then the brown creature looks right at me and seems to hold the paw up in front of his mouth in a sushing motion.
I Look at him a moment, figure it out, and then start shaking my head in agreement, “Don’t worry Little Fella,” I tell him, “I won’t tell anybody,” I grin, “Nobody would beleive me anyways.”
The little Varmint lets out a releived, cheerful chatter, and then seems to signal some sort of salute with his paw, and then scampers off into the brushy outback.
I watch him go, and keep smiling. Never a Dull Moment.

About offroad2084

Work on the Work In Progress, MyDay in HicksTown. A light-hearted look at life in the fictional town of HicksTown in WeenerMan Township.
This entry was posted in Books, Country Humor, Entertainment, rural humor, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

