Rats Raft

I’m looking at our ride, “Um are we sure about this?”
“It’s a fine boat,” Mike Fink confirms.
“Looks like a Fink-boat,” I grimace as I look upon a rather shabby, clapped together c ollection of boards banged together and setting on top a couple 55-gallon drums.
“You questioning the integrity of Mike Fink?’ Mike asks curling his burly fists.
“Not Really,” I answer quickly, “Just expressing surprise that you know a word like that,”
Mike Fink stops and looks aronud real sudden, “Don’t evfer let that get out; I have a reputaiton to uphold.”
HM grins, “Your secret is safe with us.”
“Thanks, much gratitude,” Mike bonks himself on the head, “And don’t let that word get out either,” he cautions us.
Weener looks over to the raft-barge, “You fellows got any cook-grub about?” he asks.
“I th’ little cook-shed,” Mr. Fink replies.
“Thinking about cooking-up somme breakfast,” HM says casually.
“But we just-” I start.
“And I wuz thinking, you guys eat yet,” the Weenerman cuts me off.
“Blast no!” Mike Fink exclaims, “When we’re not on a job, no self-respecting river Rat would be up prior to noon!”
“Then I can help us all out,” the Weenerman speaks with sudden generousity, “If you let me to borrow some breakfast grub, I can fry us all up a good breakfast revictualization.”
“Revictualizations,” Mike Fink looks at HM out of the corner of his eye, “I’ll have to remember that word,” then Mike Fink smiles broadly, “But go ahead, the best breakfast is the one you don’t have to cook!”

About offroad2084

Work on the Work In Progress, MyDay in HicksTown. A light-hearted look at life in the fictional town of HicksTown in WeenerMan Township.
This entry was posted in Books, Country Humor, Entertainment, rural humor, Travel, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

