Over Here!

I just step down off of the dinner-boose when I hear a voice yell out, “Over Here!!!”
I look around confusedly when I hear the voice again, “Hey You, Over Here!”
Realizing that he was talking to me, I start off in that direction.
“Let’s stack those bags of ground corn over to the loading dock,” the fella behind the voice directs.
Then I look at the bags, “Aren’t they a little big?”
“The 3x size,” the fella answers back, “Give’n the customer his moneys worth.”
I hoist my first bag, “Argggghy,” I gasp, “Where to?”
“Over onto, ungghh,” the guy grunts, “Onto that pallet on the loading dock.
Which, ugggh, one?” I counter.
The one by the, EEEiiii, skid-loader, the guy grimaces back.
I very nearly set my bag down, Arggg, You got a Forklift,why din’t you just use that?”
“It’s brand-new, gasp,” the guy sweats in the hot sun, “and I didn’t want to put a bunch more hours on it.”
“Phew, I wipe my brow in the hot-sun, “Makes sense.”
We go ahead and get all the bags of corn moved over onto the pallet at the loading dock.
“That’s about it,” the guy wipes his brow as I set the last 3x bag down, “And just in time”
I can hear the gentle plod, “Clop, clop, clop,” coming up the RailHead Drive.
The driver is in a straw hat and utility workshirt, Pulls his two-horse team to a stop, “Whoa, boys, whoa.”

About offroad2084

Work on the Work In Progress, MyDay in HicksTown. A light-hearted look at life in the fictional town of HicksTown in WeenerMan Township.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

