The Other Shoe

“Now what?” I ask the elevator-guy.
He shrugs, “I dunno, ask the horse-frarmer.”
I shift my stance to the other shoe and face the horse-farmer, “So Mr., what’s so funny.”
The horse-farmer makes a big grin, on my way over, I saw The Weenerman and Ernie heading for the Too Much with fish-poles.”
“After them joke-catfish again,” the elevator-guy laughs.
“Ahab and Ishmael again after the trophy catfish again,” I frown.
“And they had a whole carton of murkey green pop with them too,” the horse-farmer chuckles.
“Whelp,” I sigh, “they’ll be awhile,” I step onto the back of the wagon.
The elevator guy hands me a push broom and smiles sympathetically, “When it comes to getting out of work, there’s no beating the WeenerMan.”
“Yep,” the horse-farmer agrees, “If they offered a degree in Idleism, he’d be the Faculty Chair.”
“So long as it is a ’59 Chair,” I quip.
The elevator-guy speaks up, “Hear that?”
We listen to hear the approaching clop-clop of approaching wagons.
The Horse-farmer grins, “The Rail-Head Co-Op decided to gives a big discount if all us boonie-farmers got our chicken feed ground on the same day.”
The elevator guy looks at me, “Getr sweeping, boy, we got us a heap of business headed our way.”

About offroad2084

Work on the Work In Progress, MyDay in HicksTown. A light-hearted look at life in the fictional town of HicksTown in WeenerMan Township.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

