Hustle and Pestle

I get pushing the remainder of the corn out of the horse-farmer’s wagon. He tips his hat, shakes the reins and the team clop their way out to start home.
Pushig up in line behind after the horse-farmer leaves is a woman in a straw hat with her horses and a wagon.
I scratch my, “Mamm,” I say, “Looks like you forgot something.”
The elevator-guy looks down and says concernedly, “Looks like the Scout is right, Marlene, your wagon is empty.”
Marlene looks skywards, “Of course, I came to get oats to feed the horses.”
The elevator guy looks at the line up of horse drawn wagons and light trucks, shrugs, “Chicken Feed grinding Day, I’ll be tied up here all day.”
“Can I load my own?” Marlene asks.
“Be my guest,” the Elevatror Guy agrees, “You are a steady customer, go ahead.”
marlene takes one look at me, “Well Scout, go Scout yourself up a scoop shovel, you’ve got some shoveling to do.”
marlene gently guides her team and wagon, “We’re by the oats chute,” she yells, “Lemme get it.”
Marlene presses a button and a buzzer sounds as the oats slides into a vat.
marlene carefully keeps an eye on a scale.
“Just what I paid for,” Marlene says to herself as the scale reaches the right weight.
Marlene stops the chute and the outflow of oats trickles to a stop.
a last few groats sprinkle down into the back of the wagon and Marlene yells to me, “Get to Work!”

About offroad2084

Work on the Work In Progress, MyDay in HicksTown. A light-hearted look at life in the fictional town of HicksTown in WeenerMan Township.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

