Back in Line

The driver drives across the gravel lt.
“Not Far, wish it could’ve been further,” the driver half-apologizes.
“Oh well, saved me some steps,” I reply back to him.
“And?” the driver looks to the can of murkly green soda pop.
I grimace, “Saved me some steps, here,” I hand the driver the can of pop.
The driver pops the top and downs the entire contents in a couple swallow, and gets a funny look on his face, “Almost tastes good, but Wh–at,s in this stuffs,” he chokes out.
I shrug, “Never been brave enough to ask.”
The driver grimaces, “I can see why,” he replies.
“You can always have another choco-pellet,” I suggest.
“I’ve had enough ‘organic’ for one day,” the driver answers squeamishly.
The driver crushes the can and tosses it into the back of the truck.
“It’s not aluminum,” I advise him.
“Figure that, the driver answers, “I’ll recycle it with the steel cans.”
“I think it’s tin,” I put in.
“Wouldn’t be surprised,” the driver grins before thorowing his truck into gear and pulling out with a wave.

About offroad2084

Work on the Work In Progress, MyDay in HicksTown. A light-hearted look at life in the fictional town of HicksTown in WeenerMan Township.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

